Marilyn Holdsworth

Broken Pieces - Rachel Thompson

Thursday, May 29, 2014

Getting Personal with Scott Moon @ScottMoonWriter #SciFi #AmWriting #AmReading

If you could have a dinner party and invite anyone dead or alive, who would you ask?
My mother’s father Jack, my father’s mother Ruth and my aunt Debbie, and my wife’s grandfather Joseph. I wish I had a chance to know them better. As for famous people, I’d have Stephen King, Michael Connelly, J. K. Rowling, and George R. R. Martin over for dinner as long as they promised to tell me I’m a great writer. 
When you are not writing, how do you like to relax?
I enjoy reading and audio books, of course. Playing with my kids. Working out. Getting brutalized in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu class. I like to play guitar and watch movies.
Do you have any tips on how writers can relax?
I think all writers should take time for exercise each day. It clears the head and helps with the endurance needed. Writing novels takes time and commitment. Sometimes it is beneficial to focus on others, complete the honey-do list and listen attentively. Turning of the phone and social media can be surprisingly liberating.
How often do you write? And when do you write?
I write every day. My schedule is ridiculous; I’ve been on call 24/7 for the last eleven years and work at least two jobs in addition to being a husband and parent. I try to put time in first thing in the morning and before bed. Lunch breaks, kid’s nap time–it’s all good. 
Do you have an organized process or tips for writing well? Do you have a writing schedule?
I tell myself:
Finish what you write. Try to avoid the distraction of a newer, shinier story. When it’s done, you can put it aside, but you don’t have to. Stephen King advises this kind of break, but it is okay to dive right into a second draft, especially if you are primarily concerned with plot and structure. Taking a break is good. Once the structure issues are decided, a break can help bring freshness to the project.
Don’t talk about or share a manuscript until it is done (unless you’re trying to kill your momentum). Keep track of time spent writing or word counts or both. Either can work.
Save each version in a separate, clearly labeled computer file. This makes it easier to take chances with the current draft.
When you decide to quit, don’t.
Sometimes it’s so hard to keep at it – What keeps you going?
I imagine a day without writing, and realize such freedom seems pointless. I also remind myself the formula to success is simple. Work equals results. I know I can improve, and that is the coolest thing about the journey.
What do you hope people will take away from your writing? How will your words make them feel?
I want people to see and experience new things and relish the entertainment value of fictional conflict. I hope my words connected them with emotionally interesting characters. 
What’s your favorite meal?
Six months ago, the answer would have been steak, or possibly Snickers. However, I’ve been eating vegan for a while now. This is a hard question to answer, because we eat something different everyday in our house, all of it awesome. My wife makes incredible Quinoa Chile.
What movie do you love to watch?
Master and Commander. 
How do you feel about social media websites such as Facebook and Twitter? Are they a good thing?
Facebook, and especially Twitter, are great if you can determine who is a machine and who is a real person. I use Hootsuite to schedule three to five promotional tweets a day. The rest I do by hand. If I tweet “thanks for the follow” I probably used my thumbs.
I’ve met some of my best writing friends on Twitter, so I love it. Social media is useful and fun, but a huge time suck. 
If you could do any job in the world what would you do?
I’d join the military, serve my country, human kind, and see the world.
What are you most passionate about? What gets you fired up?
I get really annoyed with judgmental people who don’t have empathy. And I can’t stand hate mongers.  

Lost Hero

Changed by captivity and torture, hunted by the Reapers of Hellsbreach and wanted by Earth Fleet, Kin Roland hides on a lost planet near an unstable wormhole.

When a distant space battle propels a ravaged Earth Fleet Armada through the same wormhole, a Reaper follows, hunting for the man who burned his home world. Kin fights to save a mysterious native of Crashdown from the Reaper and learns there are worse things in the galaxy than the nightmare hunting him. The end is coming and he is about to pay for a sin that will change the galaxy forever. 


Enemy of Man: Book One in the Chronicles of Kin Roland was written for fans of military science fiction and science fiction adventure. Readers who enjoyed Starship Troopers or Space Marines will appreciate this genre variation. Powered armor only gets a soldier so far. Battlefield experience, guts, and loyal friends make Armageddon fun. 


If you love movies like Aliens, Predator, The Chronicles of Riddick, or Serenity, then you might find the heroes and creatures in Enemy of Man dangerous, determined, and ready to risk it all. It’s all about action and suspense, with a dash of romance—or perhaps flash romance. 

From the Author

Thanks for your interest in my novel, Enemy of Man. I hope you chose to read the book and enjoy every page. 

If you have already read Enemy of Man, how was it? Reviews are appreciated! 

Have a great day and be safe.
Buy Now @ Amazon
Genre – Science Fiction
Rating – R
More details about the author
 Connect with Scott Moon on Facebook & Twitter



My Life in Books Copyright © 2011 Design by Ipietoon Blogger Template | web hosting